Whyteleafe FC

Report: Whyteleafe 0-6 Worthing

The Leafe’s impressive six match unbeaten pre-season run came to an abrupt halt at Church Road on Saturday against BetVictor Isthmian League Premier side, Worthing FC.

Although Leafe had defeated another Premier side (away to Merstham) last Saturday, Worthing were different gravy. Managed by Paul Hinshelwood’s son, Adam, they are a purposeful unit and although it didn’t go as Leafe assistant boss, Calum McFarlane, had planned it was a big test for our young side. To borrow a bit of boxing parlance, it has to be said that at times Worthing gave us a schooling.

Hopefully, the young Leafe side managed to take some positives out of the game moving forwards but they just faced an incredibly efficient opponent on Saturday.

From the off, Worthing dominated possession and every time they had even the remotest half chance they seized upon it and the ball ended up in the back of the net. The slightest home defensive error was ruthlessly exploited. Overall though it was a really enjoyable football match.

To be honest there wasn’t much that Leafe keeper Tyler McCarthy could do with any of the Worthing goals.

Whyteleafe had a few half chances and striker Ronnie Sobowale went close in the first half skimming the bar with a fierce shot. Other than that, it was all Worthing. If we face a better team than Worthing at Church Road this season, they’ll be a very good side indeed.

It was good to see the former Leafe midfieder, Marvin Armstrong, turn out for Worthing and the lad showed why he was such a firm fan favourite for us. On the subject of former players, another midfielder, 18-year old, Bryan Akongo, who had started the pre-season so well for Leafe has now completed his move to Southern League side Farnborough Town.

Anyway, Whyteleafe now move onto to the next match – the last pre-season game – at Church Road, next Saturday (August 10 – 3pm) when we entertain South Park. See you there.

Whyteleafe line-Up: Tyler McCarthy, Matt O’Donoghue, Dean Patriscio, Bentley Graham, Nathan Campbell, Corey Holder, Tre Daley, Emmanuel Mensah, Ronald Sobowale, Antonio Walker-Barth, Jordan Clarke, Dami Olorunnisomo, Ricardo Thompson, Kadeem Ajeon, Joshua Malcolm, Adam Aziz, Junior Aikhionbare.

Stone Edge
Copyright © 2020 Whyteleafe Football Club